Fantastic news – Support of the German Parliament’s Vice President

Wow!

I feel honoured to announce today the support of Mrs Edelgard Bulmahn, Vice President of the German Parliament, for my project!

Edelgard Bulmahn has been a Member of the German Parliament for her constituency City of Hannover II since 1987. Between 1998 and 2005 she was the Federal Minister for Education and Research. Following her time as chairwoman of the Committee for Economy and Technology she became a full member of the Committee on Foreign Affairs as well as the Sub-Committee on Civil Crisis Prevention, Conflict Resolution and Coherent Action. During the first half of 2013 I had the pleasure of interning with Mrs Bulmahn’s office in Berlin. In the following October she was elected as Vice President of the German Parliament.

Recalling her passion for foreign affairs I contacted Mrs Bulmahn’s office ahead of my trip looking for support. Two of her employees then decisively motivated me to approach a wider public with my idea, the blog and the call for donations. Mrs Bulmahn’s response to this initiative went beyond all of my expectations: Though unable to accompany me for a bit due to time constraints (yes, that was her initial reaction), she proposed to reach out to her professional environment to create attention for my idea. Additionally, she happily came forward with a donation for the German Red Cross’ refugee work. Lastly, we will meet in Berlin after my return in order to discuss the journey and my experience.

Thank you very much for your enthusiasm and support, Mrs Bulmahn!

 

_____

About the blog/Über den Blog: https://chrisbikes.wordpress.com/about-this-blog/
About me/Über mich: https://chrisbikes.wordpress.com/about/
The German Red Cross project/Das DRK-Projekt: https://chrisbikes.wordpress.com/2016/03/23/im-zeichen-der-menschlichkeit-drk-fluchtlingshilfe/
Donate/Spenden: https://www.betterplace.org/de/projects/33861-fluchtlingshilfe
Leave a Reply

