Interlude – How my journey ended up in a US newspaper

English/Deutsch     Polykastro, 3 May

You know how there is an Athens in Ohio, United States of America?
Don’t worry, because neither did I!
Following a friend’s suggestion (thanks, Jörg), I am trying to get in touch with local media during my journey to create some attention and reach more people. Last week in Skopje I sent a more or less standardised email to some papers in Greece. I thought. Apparently, I was not sufficiently diligent and also sent one out to ‘The Athens News’ in Athens, Ohio, USA. Their editor and publisher Terry Smith replied and politely made me aware of my slip-up. However, he still published my email. Just not in the politics section, or the society one, or travelling/lifestyle/whatever…but as another letter portraying how they get mistaken for the ‘Athens News’ in actual Greece (which was closed years ago).

Thank you, Terry 😀

 

Zwischendurch – Wie meine Reise in eine US Zeitung gelangte

Athen, Ohio, USA. Kennt ihr nicht?
Kein Problem, kannte ich auch nicht. Bis jetzt!
Auf Anraten eines Freundes (danke, Jörg!) versuche ich unterwegs mit Lokalmedien in Kontakt zu treten um mehr Leute auf meine Geschichte und die Thematik aufmerksam zu machen. Letzte Woche in Skopje habe ich wieder eine mehr oder weniger standardisierte Email an einige Blätter in Griechenland verschickt. Dachte ich.
Offenbar mangelte es mir zu später Stunde etwas an Gründlichkeit und ich versandte eine an die ‘Athens News’ in Ohio, USA. Deren Herausgeber Terry Smith antwortete und machte mich höflich auf mein kleines Versehen aufmerksam. Meine Email hat er dennoch veröffentlicht. Nur nicht in der Rubrik Politik, oder Gesellschaft, oder Lifestyle/Reisen/sonst was… Sondern in einem Abschnitt, in dem die Zeitung ihren Leser_innen amüsante Beispiele präsentiert, wie sie für die ‘Athens News’ in Griechenland gehalten werden. Die vor Jahren geschlossen wurde.

Danke, Terry 😀

_____
About the blog/Über den Blog: https://chrisbikes.wordpress.com/about-this-blog/
About me/Über mich: https://chrisbikes.wordpress.com/about/
The German Red Cross project/Das DRK-Projekt: https://chrisbikes.wordpress.com/2016/03/23/im-zeichen-der-menschlichkeit-drk-fluchtlingshilfe/
Donate/Spenden: https://www.betterplace.org/de/projects/33861-fluchtlingshilfe

Leave a Reply

