Athens

English/Deutsch        Athens, 10 May

Yes! Around noon today I arrived in Athens!
After
– 2300km,
– 38 days,
– about 70. 000 calories burned (I was curious),
– and 624kg/714kg of CO2-emissions saved (compared to a car ride/a flight) – well, unfortunately they don’t offset my flight back to Amsterdam –
I made it to the 4m inhabitants capital of Greece. This leaves me with a full week to look into the situation here.

So far my programme foresees one interview with an NGO; a visit to the old Plaza Hotel where activists (I am curious) host 330 refugees and migrants, among them 180 children (thanks for the suggestion, Jannik); a trip to the harbour of Piraeus, and of course chats with the locals. Unfortunately, trips to the islands off the Turkish coast (Lesvos, Kos etc.) do not only take at least two days, but are also quite expensive.
I am still optimistic about providing you with relevant, insightful impressions from here before wrapping up this journey!

 

img_1373.jpg
Made it to Athens

 

Athen

Jawoll! Heute Nachmittag bin ich in Athen angekommen!
Nach
– 2300km,
– 38 Tagen,
– über 70.000 verbrannten Kalorien (ich war neugierig)
– und 624kg/714kg eingesparten CO2-Emissionen (im Vergleich zum Auto/Flugzeug) – naja, meinen Rückflug nach Amsterdam gleichen sie leider nicht aus –
habe ich es in die griechische 4 Mio. Einwohner Hauptstadt geschafft. Damit bleibt mir eine ganze Woche um mich mit der Situation vor Ort zu beschäftigen.

Bisher umfasst mein Programm ein Interview mit einer NGO; einen Besuch des alten Plaza Hotels, wo Aktivist_innen (bin ja mal gespannt) 330 Geflüchtete, unter ihnen 180 Kinder, untergebracht haben (danke für den Hinweis, Jannik); einen Trip zum Hafen von Piräus; sowie natürlich Gespräche mit den Leuten vor Ort. Leider dauert eine Fahrt zu den Inseln an der türkischen Grenze (Lesvos, Kos etc.) nicht nur zwei Tage, sondern ist auch noch recht teuer.
Ich bin dennoch zuversichtlich Euch interessante Eindrücke von hier schildern zu können, bevor ich meine Reise beende.

_____
About the blog/Über den Blog: https://chrisbikes.wordpress.com/about-this-blog/
About me/Über mich: https://chrisbikes.wordpress.com/about/
The German Red Cross project/Das DRK-Projekt: https://chrisbikes.wordpress.com/2016/03/23/im-zeichen-der-menschlichkeit-drk-fluchtlingshilfe/
Donate/Spenden: https://www.betterplace.org/de/projects/33861-fluchtlingshilfe

Leave a Reply

